Our Health Care System

About Us

Our Health Care System

Regional Health is an integrated health care system with a mission to make a difference in the lives of our patients and communities every day. The nonprofit organization, headquartered in Rapid City, provides community-based health care covering 32 specialty areas of medicine in more than 20 communities in two states.

Regional Health is comprised of 6 hospitals, 6 specialty centers, 24 clinics and more than 4,500 physicians and caregivers. Regional Health hospitals in Rapid City, Spearfish and Sturgis have been rated as four-star hospitals by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Regional Health is committed to the future of medicine, with medical training partnerships, a medical residency program and more than 130 active research studies.

We are confident about western South Dakota’s future, and we’re honored to be your partner in delivering excellence in health care.

Our History

Regional Health traces its history back to 1878, when Sisters of the Holy Cross opened a hospital in gold rush mining camp of Deadwood. Other communities, including Sturgis, Custer, Spearfish and Rapid City, built hospitals of their own in subsequent years.

Rapid City had two hospitals, St. John’s McNamara and Bennett-Clarkson. However, by the 1970s high costs and new medical technology prompted local officials to look at merging the hospitals into a single system. In December 1979, the combined Rapid City Regional Hospital opened. In later years, health care providers in Custer, Lead-Deadwood, Sturgis, Spearfish and other communities joined the Regional Health network.

Our Hospitals